- Hide menu

Linsten Management

And the Nominees are…..6th AACTA Awards Coming to Sydney

The Australian Academy has announced its Nominees for the 6th AACTA Awards presented by Presto!

HACKSAW RIDGE, which marks Mel Gibson’s return to directing after a decade-long hiatus, leads the pack among this year’s AACTA Award nominees. The film has received nominations in 13 categories – including Best Film, Best Direction, Best Lead Actress and Best Lead Actor.

Simon Stone’s THE DAUGHTER is close behind, nominated in 10 categories.

Linsten Morris Management’s Paul Ireland’s directorial debut PAWNO is not far behind with an incredible 6 nominations. Including a nod for best Original Screenplay. The Film has also earned Linsten Morris Management‘s JOHN BRUMPTON and KERRY ARMSTRONG best actor and best supporting actress nominations.


John Brumpton as Pawn Shop Owner Les in PAWNO.

In television, the ABC’s mini The Beautiful Lie has garnered nine nominations, while Foxtel’s The Kettering Incident has received eight.

The ABC leads the nominees for Best Television Drama Series, airing three of the four contenders –The Code, Rake, Jack Irish. Foxtel’s Wentworth has also received its third nomination in the category.

Up for Best Telefeature or Mini Series are Barracuda, The Beautiful Lie, The Kettering Incident and Molly, while squaring off Best Television Comedy Series are Black Comedy, The Family Law, Please Like Me and Upper Middle Bogan.

Foxtel is on board as the new presenting partner for the awards, which sees 300 individual practitioners from over 90 productions competing in 50 categories. Foxtel replaces Presto as the AACTA’s principal partner following Foxtel’s recent acquisition of Seven West Media’s stake in the joint venture.

The winners of the 6th AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel will be announced across two events in Sydney at The Star Event Centre.

The productions nominated above feature the following talented pool of Linsten Morris Management alumni: Ben Oxenbould (The Kettering Incident, The Code); Brooke Satchwell (Jack Irish & Black Comedy); Madeleine Jevic (Upper Middle Bogan and Wentworth) Billy Thompson and Dee Smart (Hacksaw Ridge); Elise Jansen (Upper Middle Bogan) Terry Serio, Zoe Carides, Rob Carlton, Max Cullen and Sam Smith (Rake); Georgia Chara and Edwina Samuels (Wentworth)